Mid-Atlantic Photo Visions

Mid-Atlantic Photo Visions is a 501(c)(3) non-profit, classified as educational organization for arts, culture and humanities. We file as Northern Virginia Photography Expo, Inc.

Our Mission Statement

Our mission is to promote and advance the appreciation of photography, to encourage participation in photography by individuals with all levels of experience and all areas of photographic interests, and to increase the appreciation of photographic art within the community.

Member Clubs

Members in good standing at regional member clubs are eligible to submit photos to the competitions and encouraged to volunteer to help with the event. Learn more about a club near you and consider joining!

"Venice reflection" by Ginger Werz-Petricka of NVPS

Our History

In 2002 six camera clubs in Northern Virginia saw the opportunity to promote the talents of their members, their individual clubs, and photography in general. When they started planning the first Expo, they found immediate support in the local photographic community, support which has grown each year.

In 2003, the Northern Virginia Photographic Society (NVPS), one of the participating camera clubs, was awarded 1st place in the Camera Club Category of the Nature’s Best annual international photography contest. The winning NVPS images were displayed in the fall 2003 edition of Nature’s Best Magazine.

In 2006, the Expo added a keynote presentation to the line-up when Bobby Harrison spoke about his efforts to find and photograph the illusive Ivory-billed woodpecker.

In 2008, Frans Lanting provided the keynote address on his latest book project “Life: a Journey through Time”.

Since 2011 our “star” photographer/educators have also given a full-day seminar on the Friday of Expo weekend.

In 2020, Nature Visions Photography Expo changed its name to Mid-Atlantic Photo Visions. Due to the pandemic, our event was virtual in 2020, 2021, and 2022.

Wildlife photography

Our Past Presidents

Over the years, we have had many fine presidents lead us. They include:

  • Corey Hilz 2003 – 2008
  • Joseph Rossbach 2009
  • Sara Howell 2010
  • Greg Daily 2011 – 2012
  • Bill Corbett 2013 – 2014
  • Tom Shevock 2015 – 2016
  • Roger Lancaster 2017 – 2018
  • Punit Sinha 2019 – 2021
  • Brenda Gollaher – 2021 – 2023
  • Ron Taylor 2023-2024
  • Marie Joabaar (2024-

Photo credits for this page:
“Venice reflection” by Ginger Werz-Petricka (NVPS)
“Looking at You” by Gosia Klosek (NIHCC)
“Fast Serve” by Jim Turner (NIHCC)